Snatched moments

The little moments of joy, appreciation and thankfulness are not always the moments you’d expect. I definitely have lovely moments, when I can sit and relax in the quiet for a few minutes longer than I expected, can have a shower in the morning or read my ‘Soul food for Mums’ book in the evening. But there are other, less obvious moments which are snatches of bliss. Simply being able to put Phoebe in the baby carrier and hang out washing in the sunshine whilst she looks around at the bright blooms in the garden, feel the heat of the sun and realise that I haven’t caught the laundry bag on my clothes, but that a little hand is holding onto the handle. Reading the Bible with a friend, jiggling Phoebe on my knee to try and keep her happy whilst she soothes her gums on a toy; although not empty time of rest, is a moment my soul can find rest in.

I’ve definitely been challenged in the last month or so to find God in the everyday, the normal, mundane, and in the busyness. I have the tendency (hopefully I’m not the only one!) to rush through my day with a mental to-do list, going from one thing to another, and it is quite possible find myself at the end of the day without having God in the front of my mind for longer than a minute or two. The challenge is to do all these things, be busy and get done what I need, in a Godly way, finding rest and strength in Him whilst I do them; not simply sectioning off a ‘quiet’ time, doing that, and ticking the box next to ‘God’ on my to-do list. In that sense, even calling this blog post ‘snatched moments’ isn’t quite right, as it is weaving God throughout the life He has given me, weaving Him into the role He has put me in and into the blessings He provides me with. Somehow being able to sit at Jesus’ feet and be with Him throughout my day, not when I feel I have the time.

C. S. Lewis

[From here]

4 thoughts on “Snatched moments

  1. Oh, you’re not the only one rushing through the days with the things to do and with what seems little time for God. Luckily, He just wants us and not things from us. :)

Leave a comment