5 things right now

I am hoping to have more time soon for blogging, plus a new laptop or similar to do it on, as the insurance company have written off my stamped-on notebook. (Anyone have any thoughts on convertible laptops/ tablets?!) In the meantime here’s five thoughts from now.

IMG_7380

[Wearing this skirt today!]

Words. In the absence of much time for things like blogging, but with a million things flying around my brain, I’m trying to do some writing just to save my sanity, and not worry so much, as I do, about what it’s for or who may or may not read it in the future. The words I should be writing centre around close reading, modernism and constructing coherent essay worthy arguments, so I need all the other words out of the way to allow me to concentrate.

Sleep. This was going really well (relative to having a newborn) until Simeon’s reflux and wind got worse. Last night was the worst so far but I’m hoping it was just a one off and we’ll do better tonight.

Sunshine. Spring is peeking through with days of sunshine. They allow me to hang out the washing outside to dry so it smells all fresh and lovely and it makes working so much pleasanter, the blue sky visible through the skylight. Phoebe got to go straight outside and play at nursery this morning in the rays.

Jobs.The least fun part of being in final year, definitely- especially since there’s so much going on in third year already an extra pressure isn’t very welcome. If Josh isn’t busy applying for and stressing out over jobs then I’m musing over what writing or freelancing I might be able to do, or searching for library jobs. I can’t even express how much I love libraries.

Food. The pre-birth craving I had for salad hasn’t gone away yet- so maybe it has more to do with the coming warm weather than the pregnancy. I’m aiming long term to plan our snacks and prepare food a bit better, and I’m looking forward to trying out some new, warmer weather recipes this spring and summer.

Back to the essay-writing now- I’m grateful that Phoebe has been able to have a day at nursery (she’s officially on uni holidays) where they’re doing loads of fun easter things, and that Simeon is snoozing and snorting peacefully in the Moses basket.

One thought on “5 things right now

Leave a comment