My Five: Study

As you may, or may not know, I’m returning to university next week to finish my English Literature degree. Here’s five studenty things which I’m looking forward to.

1. Library time! The way my week will work, Phoebe will be in nursery most of the time I have lectures, but there will be a few free hours for me to sit in the library and get a head start on work. I went in the other week to print some stuff off, and boy have I missed the library! They are one of my favourite places in the world.

library

2. Shakespeare. I used to dislike Shakespeare, back in Year 9 when we had to read through plays in class. I guess now I’m a bit older I have gained a more mature understanding of his work. The other week I watched the old bbc adaptations of Much Ado About Nothing and the Comedy of Errors, and enjoyed them both (they are comedies after all). I got this anthology for Christmas, thanks to my sister in law, and am looking forward to the wealth of plays we are studying this term.

Complete Works of William Shakespeare

3. I also got these beauties for Christmas- but what they point to is my love of organisation and neatness. I’m looking forward to organising my folders, writing pretty titles, headings and notes. Not to mention the highlighting when revision time comes around. This is the nice part of the stress of essay writing and deadlines.

Staedtler Triplus Fineliner

4. Again with the organisation, I’m looking forward to having a ‘uni bag’- ie. not a nappy bag, but a bag filled with paper, pens and books. I’ve just got a new water bottle, and I’m going to have to be organised and take food with me on days Phoebe has nursery lunch. It’s going to be nice to have some adult only things with me. V & A bag

5. Writing by hand! I’ve got a set of three mini moleskines which I’m enjoying using for various purposes. I have to say I never understood what was so special about them, until I got them! They even have little pockets at the back for those annoying scraps of paper. Genius.

Moleskines

 

[Source 1, 2, 3, 4, 5]

Studying starts in full swing on Monday, but I’m off to do some seminar prep. An Horation Ode upon Cromwell’s return from Ireland, anyone?

3 thoughts on “My Five: Study

  1. Good for you!
    I also feel so great about taking illustration classes, going somewhere with a purse, not a diaper bag.
    And buying all the pencils and brushes and pens makes me so happy! LOVE your set of pens!
    Good luck with your studies!

  2. Even though I’m on the teaching side of things, I still look forward to the start of a new semester. I love buying new folders and new clothes (!), and I also get excited about meeting the new students and returning to favorite pieces of literature as well as some new selections.

    Of course, ask me if I’m still enthusiastic come March!!!

Leave a comment